Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

Fiddle Lovers Online

Page:  First Page   1  2

Jul 2, 2022 - 5:08:16 PM

299 posts since 12/2/2013

No I've been listening for chord changes since the 50's so I can hear the changes and figure out the key in my head by the inversions that are being played on the rhythm instruments.
To teach others to "hear" the I IV V changes I tell them to find the 3rd of the key and use that as a type of home base. Keep playing that pitch until it sounds bad which will signal either a IV or a V chord. Then move to the 4th of the key which will sound perfect of course with a IV chord or it will be an extension of the V chord (b7). To double check that a V chord is being played I tell them to move to the 2nd of the key.
Since I've been playing music for over 60 years my "ear" has developed RELATIVE PITCH so I can basically play along with any song without having heard it before.

Jul 2, 2022 - 7:37:37 PM

2764 posts since 10/22/2007

Thanks Richard! For years I've used Pete Wernick's list, broken into two and three chord song standards for jamming. I appreciate your list. Hope you didn't have to finger-bone all that text in. But the last post about the 3rd tone, wow! I've never heard or thought about it in such a way, but I'll try it. There's can be a dissonent sound to a minor chord compared to a major chord. There's got to be something about the dissonance/sour sound of the wrong chord against the proper chord.
I know several tunes where the 4 sounds as good as the 5 chord. Those are the cases for a later date.