Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

Fiddle Lovers Online

Page:  First Page   1  2  3   Last Page (3) 

Apr 3, 2022 - 8:18:36 AM
likes this

461 posts since 7/30/2021

Ha ha, yes, geography...our jam (here in NC) frequently plays "Living in Raleigh" and "Carolina Calling" :-)

Apr 3, 2022 - 9:19:51 AM
like this

RichJ

USA

709 posts since 8/6/2013

Well I decided to mess around more with "John" today. Audacity is a great, free sound program I've been fooling around with for a couple of years. It takes awhile to learn all the stuff it can and do and there's a ton. Today I made an mp3 recording of the OTJ banjo/guitar jam track for WAJTK. Then slowed the tempo 15% and changed the key from A to F. Fiddle was tune FCFC. I'm kinda' liken' the slower tempo and lower key for this tune.

Edited by - RichJ on 04/03/2022 09:26:18

Apr 3, 2022 - 5:26:09 PM

13485 posts since 9/23/2009

Wow...it's pretty neat that you can change the pitch and tempo like that with Audacity! I do think, like so many other tunes, it does sound really good in a lower pitch...get a richer tone. Maybe that's why they call you "rich," hey? Well anyway, I really like it...your A part sounds very "walky," like somebody walking along, possibly even toward Kansas, and it sounds like you're throwing a long bow in your B part which really adds nice, what I think of as "texture," to the whole tune. Nice job...sounds good in F.

Apr 4, 2022 - 3:28:30 AM
likes this

RichJ

USA

709 posts since 8/6/2013

Thanks Peggy, Yeah - I do like the lower/slower tempo. Gives ya' the chance for a nice, easy going, slow walk to Kansas (for us old timers) lol. 

BTW- Here's the altered slowed down, pitch changed OTJ track I used should anyone else like to try it in F.

Edited by - RichJ on 04/04/2022 03:30:01

Apr 4, 2022 - 4:36:50 AM

Cool...thanks, Rich. Can't wait until I get the chance to try!

Apr 4, 2022 - 2:21:12 PM