Fiddle Lovers Online

Page:  First Page   Previous Page   1   2  3

Sep 22, 2021 - 9:42:53 AM

2004 posts since 8/27/2008

quote:
Originally posted by buckhenry
quote:
Originally posted by The Violin Beautiful

It's true that if you have limited bow technique you probably won't be as aware of the difference between a good rehair and a bad one, but that doesn't mean the difference is unimportant. 

This maybe the case in many instances especially with beginner violinists, but this does not apply to me. Even though I am a self taught fiddler I have been diligent in my approach to acquire a proficient technique of bow control. I had not rehaired my bows in decades because I believed the existing hair was adequate, but since I've read much on internet forums about the benefits of bow rehair I was very keen to experience any differences between the old hair and the rehaired bows. Recently I was in the market for a Coda Bow, I began with trialing the recommended 'Luma' for the fiddle music. This bow came no were near to matching the precision of my wood bows, but I was determined to own a carbon fiber bow so I began trialing all the Coda Bow models from the shop. Eventually I decided on the Marquise because of it's obvious superior quality. ...

I am curious about more expensive bows. I would never spend lots of money for a wooden bow because of its fragility, but I am curious about Coda bows. Can you describe to someone who's never played on an expensive bow what makes a bow worth $1,300 compared to my $75 bow? Christmas is coming and even though I really cannot afford a bow like the one you bought I might be tempted to have such a refined tool. I suppose eventually I should trial a few bows and see for myself. What truly makes a bow worth 15 times the price of the serviceable carbon fiber bow I use now? I am serious.

Sep 22, 2021 - 3:46:16 PM

WyoBob

USA

301 posts since 5/16/2019

quote:
Originally posted by Brian Wood