Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

Fiddle Lovers Online

Page: 1  2   Last Page (2) 

Nov 28, 2020 - 9:16:28 PM
311 posts since 6/11/2019

I am a classically-trained pianist (doesn't mean I'm good, just that Mom was), but not violinist/fiddler. I appreciate and interpret the various classical periods, but, as far as violin/fiddle, I'm country as heck--I don't care to play above 3rd position or sight-read 5-leger-line notation. I prefer to keep a tune in a 2-octave gate.

So, my question is, what 'light' (ie, less technical) classical pieces would you recommend for solo fiddle? An example I've been working on is Bach Cello Suite No. 1 (transposed for violin to key of Dmaj)--used a lot for TV shows, etc. Good exercise for string crossings. Also, his "Air on the G String."  I like the Oshoken Farewells and all that but wonder what classical passages you like that elicit a "Freebird!" response (for lack of a better explanation). Melodies that cause one to weep are a plus.

Edited by - Flat_the_3rd_n7th on 11/28/2020 21:28:04

Nov 28, 2020 - 11:33:46 PM
like this

1742 posts since 12/11/2008

I'm not averse to sacrilegiously transposing my favorite classical tunes into easy keys like D or G, and it's enabled me to play a whole passel of 'em. I do the final movements of several Bach Brandenburg Concertos. I do the first of Bach's Well Tempered Klaviers, transposing it from C to D. I do several Bartok tunes (man, do I love that composer!). Tunes from Beethoven Symphonies and Piano Concertos. A couple of tunes from the opera Carmen. Some Borodin and Benjamin Britten. A few Dvorak tunes. Les Chemins de L'Amour by Francis Poulenc. Lots of Mahler & Mozart melodies. Puccini. Henry Purcell. Tchaikovsky. Vaughn-Williams.

It's amazing how easily many of them fall under the fingers in first position. It's one of my favorite pastimes.

Nov 29, 2020 - 6:34:17 AM
likes this

2204 posts since 10/22/2007
Online Now