Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

Fiddle Lovers Online

Page:  First Page   1  2

Sep 10, 2020 - 2:59:51 PM

bitman

USA

16 posts since 9/1/2019

I slid into notes because I'm a relative beginner and have beginners bad intonation.

So Yes.

Sep 10, 2020 - 3:08 PM

8933 posts since 3/19/2009

quote:
Originally posted by bitman

I slid into notes because I'm a relative beginner and have beginners bad intonation.

So Yes.

In my opinion, if you are a beginner and KNOW that you need to slid to get a note...then you probably have a good 'ear'.. that is a good thing..wink

Sep 10, 2020 - 9:02:54 PM
likes this

bitman

USA

16 posts since 9/1/2019

quote:
Originally posted by TuneWeaver
quote:
Originally posted by bitman

So Yes.

In my opinion, if you are a beginner and KNOW that you need to slid to get a note...then you probably have a good 'ear'.. that is a good thing..wink

I'd like to think so. My "good' ears are all I have as I have never been able to read music,

I slide as a crutch right now.

Sep 11, 2020 - 4:43:21 AM

Earworm

USA

170 posts since 1/30/2018

Hey @bitman, you're in good company. A whole lotta musicians don't read dots, they just make music. :)

Dec 13, 2020 - 1:25:23 AM
likes this

223 posts since 6/21/2012

Absoposilutely! They don’t call me snakefinger for nothing. wink

Dec 13, 2020 - 10:13:17 AM
likes this

25 posts since 11/20/2020

I don’t have much to add: lots of folks have covered this. I did a workshop with Kevin Burke. He will intentionally flatten notes at times as a subtle ornamentation, but he’s eminently capable of hitting notes spot on when he wants. From that I strive to have good intonation but I also strive to be purposeful when I bend notes.

Edited by - bulltrout on 12/13/2020 10:14:02

Dec 16, 2020 - 1:28:11 PM