Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

52
Fiddle Lovers Online


Fiddle Reviews

Review Categories

Most Recent

The fiddle reviews database is here to help educate people before they purchase an instrument. Of course, this is not meant to be a substitute for playing the instrument yourself!

213 reviews in the archive.

Corilon violins

Submitted by amelie909 (see all reviews from this person) on 6/25/2017

Overall Comments

it is really not smart to buy a violin online. on should play 10 or more violins to chose one. i had very  bad experience with corilon violins. they are only a buisiness campany.  

 

Overall Rating: 1

Corilon violins

Submitted by hajjarmo (see all reviews from this person) on 5/21/2016

Overall Comments

A well trusted luthier that you keep going back to...

I have purchased my first violin through Corilon and now i'm going back to upgrade for a more professional model.  

The best part of the experience is the advice i got from Dr. Annette Roeben, who engaged with me by email and gave specific advice that made sense to me.  She was not looking to sell the more expensive violins, even though i told her that my budget allows me to do so.

I am happy to recommend Corilon to anyone looking to purchase a violin, given that i have purchased my first violin through Corilon and now i'm in the process of buying the second one.

Overall Rating: 9

Royce Burt

Submitted by t9c (see all reviews from this person) on 3/22/2016

Overall Comments

The buying experience from Royce Burt was one of the most gratifying experiences I've ever had. His YouTube videos practically sell his fiddles, as he is a good player, not in the violinist sense but as a fellow fiddler who plays the same songs us fiddlers do. The hard part is deciding which fiddle you want! They all sound great.

In dealing with him, he is like dealing with friends. Never pretentious, he's there to help you find what you're looking for and goes to great lengths to get you there and make you a happy customer.

If you're looking for an upgrade or even a first fiddle, you'd be amiss if you didn't try at least one of his fiddles.

Just go to YouTube.com and search for Royce Burt. Prepare to spend a lot of time watching and critically listening, you're bound to find something you like.
 

Overall Rating: 10

Don Leister

Submitted by blockader (see all reviews from this person) on 2/24/2016

Overall Comments

I sent my 1993 Charles Horner fiddle to Don in Richmond, as my playing had outgrown my homemade setup job. It came back playing and sounding so much better. Don was responsive and understanding of the needs of a fiddler, which makes sense as the instruments he builds in house are popular across styles, and I believe he is a fiddler himself as well. His suggestions were well considered and he did not try to perform unnecessary work.

His work is perfect and his prices beat the violin shops in Atlanta to boot. With shipping the overall cost was comparable, but I am 100% positive his work was superior and more attuned to my needs, without the 4 hours of driving time using a shop a in Atlanta would require.

I hope to someday buy one of his handmade fiddles, but in the mean time I will definitely send my setup work his way!

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by Ron (see all reviews from this person) on 1/29/2016

Overall Comments

Got a Super Fiddle from Royce, a "Suwanee" number 1004. 

I had been looking for an "upgrade" fiddle for a few years and had been considering one of Royce's revoiced instruments.

Heard this violin on Royce's youtube channel and had to try it. At first I was reluctant, because it was actually a new, re-voiced model and I like the old ones. But, this fiddle is everything I was looking for, it is powerful but sweet sounding, resonant across all strings. The tone is beautiful, full, complex and deep. It also plays easy, smooth.

I would highly recommend Royce if you want a superior fiddle. He was excellent to work with, is extremely knowledgeable about fiddles and their construction. He knows how to get the most out of each instrument. 

You should try one of his fiddles if you are looking for a really good one. I would love to buy another myself.

Ron

Overall Rating: 10

Corilon violins

Submitted by jlgillet (see all reviews from this person) on 1/20/2016

Overall Comments

As the parents of three talented young musicians we want to thank Corilon Violins for supplying us with exquisite instruments. Thank you Dr. Annette Roeben for your kindness and for sharing your expertise so freely. We could only recommend Corilon Violins to other parents, students, teachers and professionals looking for quality instruments and a great customer service.

Overall Rating: 10

Corilon violins

Submitted by Runa (see all reviews from this person) on 10/27/2015

Overall Comments

I live in Australia and recently I bought a violin and bow from Corilon violins. I was extremely impressed with the standard of service offered by this company and by the care taken to ship my instrument all the way to Australia from Germany.

Shopping for my instrument was extremely easy through Corilon's website. Their online shop is easy to navigate and search with a very high level of functionality. The images of the instruments are high quality and detailed making it possible to make a real examination of the instrument before purchase. Further, the sound samples provided are an invaluable tool that allows an online buyer to make an informed decision before purchasing. Insurance appraisal certifications are also available which is very good and very important when buying musical instruments.

Unlike many online shops, Corilon charges very reasonable shipping rates, even for international buyers. I was very pleasantly surprised by the shipping costs for an instrument and bow to be sent to Australia. They also offer a number of payment options, making it very easy to send payment from another country, and they shipped my instrument very quickly.

When the instrument arrived, I noticed immediately how well packaged it was. I was concerned about making such a large and valuable purchase online but, when I saw how much care had been taken with the packaging of my instrument, I was very relieved. The violin and bow were  exactly as described on the website and the photographs I had seen online prior to purchasing the instrument were very accurate.

I am a professional violinist and I used my own judgment to make my purchase so I did not have any particular correspondence with the company. I did receive email confirmations from them, however, notifying me of the status of my purchase at all stages and with the shipping information and I was impressed by the high level of service; not all online shops and companies bother to inform buyers of the status of their shipments nor are they open to inquiries should they arise. Corilon's communication was excellent, however, and I did feel that I could have contacted them at any time had the need arisen. I was extremely impressed that the violin could be shipped to Australia and that it arrived safely and in absolutely perfect condition.

Overall, I recommend Corilon violins extremely highly. It is not always easy to find just the right instrument for one's needs and it can be stressful to imagine buying something like a violin online. Corilon is a professional and efficient company that gives a buyer all the information they need to make such a purchase. I believe anyone could buy from them with absolute piece of mind that their instrument will be sent with the utmost care to any place in the world.

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by johnspierce (see all reviews from this person) on 10/26/2015

Overall Comments

 

I bought two Withlacoochee model fiddles from Royce for my wife and me.  We are both super happy with our new fiddles!  First of all, it's about the tone. These fiddles are Royce's shop models and they are absolutely fantastic! Deep, strong bluegrass tones, nice low action and super easy to play.

Royce is a super guy to work with.  He is absolutely interested in getting a person into a great fiddle at a reasonable cost.  Don't be afraid to buy from him long distance - he is an honest, hardworking guy and will do you right.

I think I'm gonna go play that fiddle right now ;)

John Pierce

 

 

 

Overall Rating: 10

Corilon violins

Submitted by chenwen75 (see all reviews from this person) on 10/20/2015

Overall Comments

I bought a violoncello from Corilon for my daughter, and after one month playing, we found that the instrument is in very good sound quality.  The staff and lustier there were very much kind and helpful in introducing every instrument to me, there specialties, history, sound attributes, etc.  Corilon is the right place no matter you are mature or professional.  Also, the trade-in policy was very attractive thus a long term relationship can be expected from the support of Corilon to one's music journey.

Overall Rating: 10

Corilon violins

Submitted by TAshworth (see all reviews from this person) on 9/4/2015

Overall Comments

IFrench violin purchased the Antique French violin, Laberte violin from Corilon. The violin arrived in perfect condition and met the description. The website has a wonderful feature which allows you to hear a demo of the violin prior to purchase. This made the purchase easy. I was very pleased to have the violin in it's new forever home. My associates and students were surprised at the wonderful response time and tone of the violin. The only drawback to the purchase was the shipping, it took 6 weeks to arrive. This was beyond their control as the issue was between the shipping companies. Luckily no damage was done in the shipping, I attribute this to the careful packaging of the violin. The only thing left is to discover it's name. I am sure it will tell me in time.

Overall Rating: 9

Royce Burt

Submitted by MK-STL7 (see all reviews from this person) on 8/12/2015

Overall Comments

Hey Everyone, I just received my Jones Creek #706 from Royce Burt yesterday 8-11-15. WOW!!! This Fiddle is Killer-Awesome in Every Way!!! Super Easy to play--Nice smooth Double-Stops and a FAT, Full Tone with some Darkness to it. Plenty of Power, so you can keep up with anybody. This is the Best Fiddle I have ever owned or played. The Tone is Rich and DEEP yet, very Clear and Distinct with sweet tones ( almost as sweet as Old Violin #227) on the A and E strings. Nice Lows on the G & D strings---You can Literally "Feel" the vibrations of the G & D strings right into your shoulder---almost a viola-like quality and the lows are Clear also. Royce has done a super job on the Jones Creek Fiddles-------------Better get yourself one of these because they produce the kind of Tones so many folks are looking for.....Royce is Honest and Great to work with--------------Thanks, Royce! 

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by blockader (see all reviews from this person) on 8/6/2015

Overall Comments

If you want a great playing and sounding fiddle for a decent price than give Royce's revoiced boxes a shot. They are consistently excellent and he gives a trial period and is wonderful in general to work with. His videos give an accurate impression of the instrument but the fiddles go VERY fast, I'd recommend subscribing to his youtube channel so you get his vids in your email right when he posts them!

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by DDCSYC (see all reviews from this person) on 8/4/2015

Overall Comments

I recently purchased a Maggini model  fiddle from Royce and I am well pleased with it. Sounds great and is a beautiful instrument. Royce gives you time to try out your fiddle.I highly recommend Royce if you are looking for a fiddle.

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by mandobozo (see all reviews from this person) on 7/30/2015

Overall Comments

I purchased a terrific fiddle from Royce a few weeks ago (Withlacoochee #901) and wanted to state how pleased I am with the fiddle as well as provide a few comments on Royce and his approach.  I am a novice fiddler, so take these comments with that in mind.  On the other hand, I've been a musician for 50 years, primarily play guitar and mandolin, and have performed in groups and as a solo act throughout the Southeast. I restore and repair instruments and have built a few guitars and mandolins.  So, I have informed opinions, based mainly on experience, but none that would qualify as "expert."

My fiddle addiction is recently acquired by way of my great-great grandfather's fiddle coming into my possession.  It's a German trade fiddle, Strad model, that was in serious disrepair when I received it.  Without the provenance I probably wouldn't have spent the money to restore it to playing condition, but it turned out to be a nice sounding fiddle--much better than the Hopf I had been mostly ignoring.  This was the spark that got me started again on fiddle, so I got serious and found an excellent fiddle teacher.  Unfortunately, the neck repair failed (most likely a new neck is needed) and I started thinking about getting  a new fiddle to replace it.

 

I can pick up a guitar or mandolin and determine pretty quickly its strengths and weakness, tonal quality, playability, etc.  Though tone preference can be subjective, characteristics such as sustain, resonance, complex overtones,  power and punch are generally not and I think my appraisals based on my ear have validity.  I have no appraisal chops whatsoever when it comes to fiddle--at least when I play it.  I can do better listening to an accomplished fiddler, but my "fiddle ear" is still in its infancy.

 

No one likes purchasing a "blind item" where you lack the skill or experience to determine relative value.  Is this a good deal or am I overpaying?  What could be worse than an eBay purchase"  "Ya know, that fiddle looks like it oughta sound pretty good."  

Buying a fiddle was definitely a blind item for me and I didn't feel confident about the process.

Literally by accident, I stumbled across Royce's YouTube channel.  He had a ton of videos with him playing different fiddles, he was a damn good player,--and it seemed like he was selling them.  I dropped him an email for more info, website, etc.  Royce responded quickly and said no website, just YouTube, as a website was just too much work.  He said Youtube was easier and gave folks more information on the actual merits of a particular fiddle than pages of text.  

 

After spending a few hours viewing all the videos, I realized how correct Royce was.  It's easy to compare one fiddle to another, noting the differences, your likes, dislikes, and hearing one every once in a while that really got your attention.  They all seemed more than decent sounding and some really stood out to my uninformed ears.

 

We had a couple of phone conversations and Royce discussed his approach to re-graduating older trade fiddles as well as the occasional modern one.  This was a subject I had long been interested in as applied to mandolins and with all carved instruments it's the point where skillful technique gives way to art.  You can't just carve to to the same static spec and get the same result every time.  Each piece of wood has different characteristics that require subtle adjustments, and knowing when and how to make them separates the artist from those that are just skillful.

 

You can get lost in the weeds on the multiple and various methods to achieve optimal tone.  Some like tap-tuning by ear, others take a more scientific approach, identifying the various nodes and generating Chladni patterns--the mind boggles.  However Royce does it, I believe he's come up with a practical and repeatable approach for improving the "fiddle voice" of violins.  You can't turn a sow's ear into a silk purse, but the proof is in Royce's videos.  That's a whole lot of good sounding fiddles coming from a single source so I'd have to say he's doing a lot of things right.

 

Of course, everyone goes on about how great it is to deal with Royce and you won't find a different opinion from me.  It was just a pleasure to find someone who believes in their product AND willing to stand behind it and do whatever it takes to make sure you are satisfied with your selection.  I feel a got a great fiddle at a fair price and always felt 100% comfortable with the person I was dealing with.  You can't beat that with a stick.

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by ahaynes (see all reviews from this person) on 6/26/2015

Overall Comments

Hey fiddlers , I'm Adam Haynes fiddle player with The Grascals from Nashville Tn.   Just wanted to say that I own the Jones Creek violin  #701, and it's one badass of a fiddle.   It's the prototype of the Jones Creek  model and it's a sure gem in every way.   Thanks again Royce!!!!   

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by nickbachman (see all reviews from this person) on 6/23/2015

Overall Comments

Royce is a great guy who happens to also be a kickass luthier and fiddle trader. I found Royce via his Youtube videos and then saw all the rave reviews here on FHO, so I decided to give him a shot. I told him my budget and he gave me a list of a good handful of instruments he had currently that sounded like what I was looking for. I chose one and played it for a couple days, but it just wasn't quite clicking with me. Since Royce has a 7-day trial period, I was able to send it back and ask him for some advice. I told him the sound I was looking for, and he suggested one of his Jones Creek models. He knew I was looking for an older instrument, but said his Jones Creek models had the tone I was describing. Dark, fat tone. I decided to give one a shot (Jones Creek #711). I got the instrument and immediately liked it a lot. I played it for a couple days and the sound actually began to open up even more than when I first got it. Sold! It's only gotten better in the weeks I've had it, I can't wait to hear what it sounds like in the coming years. The Jones Creek models come in at a great price point, look really nice (love that thin, light finish), play like butter, and Royce is a real pleasure to work with. Don't hesitate to shoot him an email if you're in the market for a new fiddle!

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by greyowl (see all reviews from this person) on 6/19/2015

Overall Comments

Longtime lurker on this forum, just registered so I can put in a good word for Royce. I contacted him a few weeks back regarding Jones Creek 710-D, at the time it was unavailable but Royce later emailed me that it had become available. This fiddle looks great, easy to play, very responsive and has a great tone for fiddle tunes. It is a strong, bluegrassy sound (works great for old-time tunes as well) and definitely holds its own in voice and volume compared to the tone I have heard on much pricier instruments.  I love playing it.

I did have some hesitation about purchasing over the internet but Royce gave me plenty of time to decide (though it only took me a day) and I felt very comfortable that I could return it for any reason. 

Any questions feel free to pm me. If you are looking for a fiddle within this price range or above Royce is definitely somebody worth talking to.

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by jerryleejackson (see all reviews from this person) on 6/4/2015

Overall Comments

I recently purchased a fiddle from Royce Burt, Jones Creek #713. I wanted a fiddle that would challenge me to play better and one that I could expand into and learn how to control better tone and volume. I have been following Royce's YouTube posts for about six months. Finally, when the Jones Creek models came out, I sent him a check. Since I'm here in Florida, I drove the seven hours over to Royce's place to play some fiddles. To say that Royce is a gracious host is an understatement. He brought out twenty + fiddles for me to narrow down the voice I was looking for. When I had narrowed it down to three, we both played them for each other (Royce is an awesome fiddler!) We both agreed that #713 was 'The One'. His patience and hospitality were over the top and helped me get to the right choice. He even gave me some great playing tips and fixed a few issues on my other fiddle, no charge. 

As for Jones Creek #713, it's a big, deep voiced Strad model that dominates the conversation if it wants to. Mid range is smooth and loud, high notes are very clear. Finish is a beautiful honey gold like a vintage Martin D45 top. Not glossy but not dull either. Lots of beautiful close grained spruce showing through the top and of course very warm golden aged maple on back and sides. All appointments are clean and it even has pearl inlaid peg tips that I didn't discover until I got home from Plant City. Did you mean to give me those Royce? I couldn't help becoming a believer in Royce's 'math' as he calls it. His graduations and voicing secrets are not an accident. He has apprenticed with some of the best, and he's hitting his stride at this point. I played a prototype he is working on.  (look for some newer models soon that are pushing these fiddles even further).  What else can I say, Royce is honest and easy to deal with. His fiddles sound great and they are affordable. I highly recommend Royce Burt as a luthier and all around great guy.  

Oh, and if you're an FSU grad, all the more fun with Royce - Go 'Noles! 

Overall Rating: 10

Royce Burt

Submitted by PacificNW (see all reviews from this person) on 4/14/2015

Overall Comments

We were in the market for a full size violin for our school-age daughter who was ready to move up from 3/4 size.  While researching on the Internet we came across Royce’s YouTube videos. We contacted Royce who got back to us the very next day.  Royce was very helpful and recommended several violins he thought would be a good match for her classical style of play. We watched many videos with our daughter and found being able to listen and compare in a stress-free environment, at our leisure, was great.  She picked out several violins she liked the tone of - one happened to be a violin that Royce recommended. We placed the order and the violin arrived safely (from across the country!) to begin the trial period.  After our daughter’s first practice session there was no way that "old violin #256" was getting shipped back – she loved it!  The violin has great tone and is a pleasure for our daughter to play.  Her teacher also loved the violin, saying it was perfectly set up and that she was a bit envious that it wasn’t her own.  She was amazed at our fortunate "over-the-Internet" purchase.  Royce was great to work with.  He also recommended a bow that is perfect for the violin.  Thanks again, Royce!

Overall Rating: 10

Corilon violins

Submitted by selina01 (see all reviews from this person) on 3/31/2015

Overall Comments

 

It was totally worth it to pay a visit with my father to Corilon violins in Munchen. At first we had contact via email and Dr. Annette Roeben was very helpful and clear about the possibilities. She made a selection of violins which were all in perfect condition! We had the opportunity to take our time testing each violin. Although Dr. Annette Roeben was not with us the whole time, I was perfectly able to make the right decision. Dr. Annette Roeben gave us valuable advice.

The shipping went well, it took a bit longer than expected, but without any surprises. I am very satisfied with my violin, the sound is magnificent and the violin itself in perfect condition. The prices are compared to little workshops in my country very reasonable.

I would definitely recommend Corilon to others!

Greetings from the Netherlands

 

 


 

 

Overall Rating: 9

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.125