Banjo Hangout Logo
Banjo Hangout Logo

Premier Sponsors

102
Fiddle Lovers Online


Blogs

Page 6 of 12 - First | Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | Next | Last

Crooked Tune Heaven? or Hell?

Saturday, November 7, 2009 @6:31:18 PM

After learning the Tom Bigbee Waltz the other night I started digging for more tunes that are usually played out of GDGD, since I won't go into a tuning for just two or three tunes, and I want to get a block of GDGD tunes together so I can introduce them at the jam.

Well, so far almost every one I've found that is normally played there is Crooked with a capital C. Yew Piney Mountain, Trouble on my Mind, Christmas Morning, Elk River Blues, Jenny In The Cotton Patch, Newt Payne, Jeff Sturgeon . . . geez, the only two I found that aren't, so far, are Pretty Little Shoes and Gimme A Chaw Of Tobacco.

Anybody got any suggestions for GDGD tunes that aren't Jam Busters? I love these crooked tunes and  I'm finally getting my head wrapped around them in a way that makes 'em playable, but my jam bunch can barely "get" Paddy on the Pike! If I throw them into a whole POOL  of crooked tunes the whole group of 'em will drown for sure!

11 comments

Downs and Ups

Friday, November 6, 2009 @12:44:55 PM 4 comments

New Strings . . . OOOHHHHH!!!!

Friday, October 30, 2009 @8:24:49 AM 12 comments

I wish I could jam every night . . .

Wednesday, October 28, 2009 @7:40:38 AM 5 comments

The Arch Enemy, TENSION is back!

Monday, October 26, 2009 @7:24:24 AM 15 comments

G Mania

Tuesday, October 20, 2009 @6:27:03 AM 9 comments

Whole Hearted Playing

Friday, October 16, 2009 @5:51:19 AM 14 comments

Sore Fingers

Sunday, October 4, 2009 @6:15:31 PM 7 comments

In The Zone

Thursday, October 1, 2009 @8:54:40 PM 8 comments

French Fiddle Lust

Thursday, September 24, 2009 @7:29:03 AM 8 comments

A week of fiddle riches . . .

Saturday, September 19, 2009 @6:06:41 PM 4 comments

Curbside treasure . . .

Tuesday, September 15, 2009 @6:30:11 PM 11 comments

Let the Jokes Begin . . .

Sunday, September 13, 2009 @6:46:04 PM 21 comments

Those Elusive Tunes

Thursday, September 10, 2009 @7:35:21 PM 11 comments

My Heart is still at Lake Genero

Tuesday, September 8, 2009 @10:48:03 AM 9 comments

Exploring Foreign Territory

Friday, August 28, 2009 @5:44:25 PM 8 comments

Magic happens . . .

Wednesday, August 26, 2009 @9:23:29 AM 4 comments

Fiddling in the Shadow of Henry's Forge

Sunday, August 23, 2009 @8:09:26 AM 1 comment

Kicking Tunes Off- An update

Tuesday, August 18, 2009 @8:16:17 AM 10 comments

One fiddle too few?

Monday, August 17, 2009 @5:53:16 AM 22 comments
Page 6 of 12 - First | Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | Next | Last

Hangout Network Help

View All Topics  |  View Categories

0.09375