Visit Mel Bay

Corilon violins Luthier Reviews

Corilon violins
submitted 5/21/2016

Submitter

hajjarmo (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


A well trusted luthier that you keep going back to...

I have purchased my first violin through Corilon and now i'm going back to upgrade for a more professional model. †

The best part of the experience is the advice i got from Dr. Annette Roeben, who engaged with me by email and gave specific advice that made sense to me. †She was not looking to sell the more expensive violins, even though i told her that my budget allows me to do so.

I am happy to recommend Corilon to anyone looking to purchase a violin, given that i have purchased my first violin through Corilon and now i'm in the†process of buying the second one.

Overall Rating

9


Corilon violins
submitted 1/20/2016

Submitter

jlgillet (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


As the parents of three talented young musicians we want to thank Corilon†Violins for supplying us with exquisite instruments. Thank you Dr. Annette Roeben for your kindness and for sharing your expertise so freely. We could only recommend Corilon†Violins to other parents, students, teachers and professionals looking for quality instruments and a great customer service.

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 10/27/2015

Submitter

Runa (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I live in Australia and recently I bought a violin and bow from Corilon violins. I was extremely impressed with the standard of service offered by this company and by the care taken to ship my instrument all the way to Australia from Germany.

Shopping for my instrument was extremely easy through Corilon's website. Their online shop is easy to navigate and search with a very high level of functionality. The images of the instruments are high quality and detailed making it possible to make a real examination of the instrument before purchase. Further, the sound samples provided are an invaluable tool that allows an online buyer to make an informed decision before purchasing. Insurance appraisal certifications are also available which is very good and very important when buying musical instruments.

Unlike many online shops, Corilon charges very reasonable shipping rates, even for international buyers. I was very pleasantly surprised by the shipping costs for an instrument and bow to be sent to Australia. They also offer a number of payment options, making it very easy to send payment from another country, and they shipped my instrument very quickly.

When the instrument arrived, I noticed immediately how well packaged it was. I was concerned about making such a large and valuable purchase online but, when I saw how much care had been taken with the packaging of my instrument, I was very relieved. The violin and bow were† exactly as described on the website and the photographs I had seen online prior to purchasing the instrument were very accurate.

I am a professional violinist and I used my own judgment to make my purchase so I did not have any particular correspondence with the company. I did receive email confirmations from them, however, notifying me of the status of my purchase at all stages and with the shipping information and I was impressed by the high level of service; not all online shops and companies bother to inform buyers of the status of their shipments nor are they open to inquiries should they arise. Corilon's communication was excellent, however, and I did feel that I could have contacted them at any time had the need arisen. I was extremely impressed that the violin could be shipped to Australia and that it arrived safely and in absolutely perfect condition.

Overall, I recommend Corilon violins extremely highly. It is not always easy to find just the right instrument for one's needs and it can be stressful to imagine buying something like a violin online. Corilon is a professional and efficient company that gives a buyer all the information they need to make such a purchase. I believe anyone could buy from them with absolute piece of mind that their instrument will be sent with the utmost care to any place in the world.

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 10/20/2015

Submitter

chenwen75 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I bought a violoncello from Corilon for my daughter, and after one month playing, we found that the instrument is in very good sound quality. †The staff and lustier†there were very much kind and helpful in introducing every instrument to me, there specialties, history, sound attributes, etc. †Corilon†is the right place no matter you are mature or professional. †Also, the trade-in policy was very attractive thus a long term relationship can be expected from the support of Corilon to one's music journey.

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 9/4/2015

Submitter

TAshworth (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


IFrench violin purchased the Antique French violin, Laberte violin from Corilon. The violin arrived in perfect condition and met the description. The website has a wonderful feature which allows you to hear a demo of the violin prior to purchase. This made the purchase easy. I was very pleased to have the violin in it's new forever home. My associates and students were surprised at the wonderful response time and tone of the violin. The only drawback to the purchase was the shipping, it took 6 weeks to arrive. This was beyond their control as the issue was between the shipping companies. Luckily no damage was done in the shipping, I attribute this to the careful packaging of the violin. The only thing left is to discover it's name. I am sure it will tell me in time.

Overall Rating

9


Corilon violins
submitted 3/31/2015

Submitter

selina01 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


It was totally worth it to pay a visit with my father to Corilon violins in Munchen. At first we had contact via email and Dr. Annette Roeben was very helpful and clear about the possibilities. She made a selection of violins which were all in perfect condition! We had the opportunity to take our time testing each violin. Although Dr. Annette Roeben was not with us the whole time, I was perfectly able to make the right decision. Dr. Annette Roeben gave us valuable advice.

The shipping went well, it took a bit longer than expected, but without any surprises. I am very satisfied with my violin, the sound is magnificent and the violin itself in perfect condition. The prices are compared to little workshops in my country very reasonable.

I would definitely recommend Corilon to others!

Greetings from the Netherlands


Overall Rating

9


Corilon violins
submitted 7/13/2014

Submitter

Augusta Rush (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I grew up always playing European violins, and immediately fell in love with their beautiful sound.  My parents saw my growing ability, and wanted to surprise me with a classic, historical, European violin.  After searching for one locally, my father contacted Dr. Annette Roeben at Corilon.  She gave my parents several recommendations based upon my size and playing ability.  My parents made a selection based upon those which she recommended.  My violin arrived better than was described online.  Corilon was exceptional to work with, and I highly recommend them!

My violin has an amazing sound, and I feel very honored to play it.  The history also means a lot to me.  It makes the instrument unique; it has a special story.  I am truly blessed to be a part of my violin's future!

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 6/17/2014

Submitter

azviolinist01 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I have purchased two violins from Corilon in the past year. Both are incredible instruments that were exactly as described on the Corilon website. The first violin arrived in one week last fall,†the second violin arrived in three weeks this spring. It left Germany immediately and the wait was in my own country. The shipping costs were low and†they were very professionally delivered. It was not only the website and superb quality of the violins, it was the customer service of Corilon violins that I also found outstanding.

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 3/19/2014

Submitter

musicalouis (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


two violins were bought from Corilon violins. both are good enough. two aspects i admire most are the design of their website and the packing of the violin. their webaite are so user friendly that you can find all you wanna know about the violin you're going to buy and their packing is very efficient and reliable that i the violins are perfectly safe in the packing. Great experience in buying instruements online~

Overall Rating

9


Corilon violins
submitted 2/25/2014

Submitter

bmoira (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I discover Corilon Violins few months ago searching an old instrument for my 9 years old child. We needed a 3/4 violin and we have been listening to the samples in the Corilon online shop for two months. Then we decided to buy a 1940 Bohemian violin. It arrived in a week. The violin is very beutiful and its sound has the quality we thought. Certainly we will buy the next 4/4 violin at Corilon online shop when our child need it.

Overall Rating

9


Corilon violins
submitted 11/30/2013

Submitter

michele_du (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


2 months ago I bought a modern Italian violin from website†of Corilon violins. It was my very first time ordering and buying things online, let alone a violin. Dr. Annette Roeben†even helped me choose a more suitable one, and gave me good advices†about †custom matters.†I was very excited and nervous †waiting for the day i could receive it. It took 3 weeks for the violin to arrive to my country, and the violin was packed perfectly in a free violin case. It looked better than in the foto, and the sound was almost exactly the same as in the sound clip. Though the violin was a bit heavy but after 1 month of trial I got used to it and now this violin has become my "baby". I would definitely recommend my friends and collegues†to visit Corilon website to look at the collection there, they would surely find their own "babies" as I just did.

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 2/11/2013

Submitter

yfarghaly (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I was looking for antique handmade violin to buy but i was a bit worried about buying violin online without knowing how it sounds like. I found Corilon Violins web site very well organized with very wide range of instruments and prices with sound samples which really encouraged me to step forward. I had some inquiries and they were really helpful and replied all my mails very fast. The violin was professionally and perfectly packed, with a sound and appearance matching exactly what i ordered. They are trustworthy and i can fully recommend to any musician who would like to buy string instrument.
Yasser Farghaly

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 10/25/2012

Submitter

mika (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


My daughter's Mirecourt arrived safely yesterday. She loves its powerful sound. Her teacher is impressed. The whole experience of purchasing the violin was so smooth and efficient with their wonderful website. Dr. Annette Roeben professionally answered every little question I asked. There was no pressure in the decision making process. We'd like to come back in the future!

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 10/25/2012

Submitter

normant (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I have just received a replacement violin for one that I was disappointed with and returned. Dr. Roeben recommended this powerful, bright, balanced, resonant Strad copy that I spent half the night playing, it sounded so good. Many thanks to Dr. Roeben for her efforts to keep a customer happy. As my skills improve and funds allow, I may use the Corilon 100% trade-in program to upgrade further.

Overall Rating

9


Corilon violins
submitted 9/18/2012

Submitter

mervyn81 (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


The website for corilon violins is so user friendly and a delight to navigate through. I spent hours viewing and listening to the sounds of different violins but it was a thoroughly exciting experience. It was my first experience purchasing a violin online but Dr. Annette took the time to answer all my questions and assisted in making it a wonderful experience. Now i have a very special violin and bow to continue making music with! :)

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 8/11/2012

Submitter

suzukirat (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


So we received my sons 1900 Mittenwald last weekend and are beyond pleased!!!!! He loves to play it. The quality and sound of the instrument are incredible! It took ten days to get here. There were no hangups with shipping at all. One of my sons teachers was very impressed, and the other teacher will get to see it on Thursday. We can't wait. I would highly recommend Corilon violins. You get what you pay for!
Thanks again Corilon violins!
Anja

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 7/25/2012

Submitter

suzukirat (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


So I just wanted to let everyone know about Corilon Violins. I have been searching for several weeks for a full size violin for my son, and found their website. Every violin shop should have a website like theirs. Normally I would not order over the internet. However, they basically give you all the details you need to make a decision, including audio. His violin was sent today and we are looking forward to receiving it! You get a 30 day money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. All we would be out is shipping. That is a small price to pay for a 1900 Mittenwald. They answered questions quickly and are very friendly. I'll let you know more when the violin gets here! Thanks Corilon! Anja

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 9/13/2011

Submitter

sebapiu (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


As I'm a student and I reside in a city where there aren't many options at the time of getting a new instrument, I was searching for online stores that sell violins/bows and offered a reasonable trial period to get it tested, this way I could use the instrument as if its mine and also show it to friends and my teacher. After reading some reviews, I was directed to Corilon Violins.

The website is very friendly, and in case you have any trouble and send an email you'll get a response fairly quickly.
After checking all the violins in my price range and some helpful mail exchanges with Dr. Annette, I've decided to go for a French violin from Mirecourt. The prices are all very clear and there are no surprises, the pictures are of good resolution and all details are covered in the description, additionally there is a sound sample of each instrument so you can get an idea of how it sounds.

It's been 5 months already since I bought this violin, and as an amateur student my progress is noticeable and I enjoy playing a lot more.

The experience with this store was so good that now I'm in process of testing some new bows I've got from them too!

Greetings,
Sebastian Piu

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 7/23/2011

Submitter

mati (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I can nothing but recommend Corilon violins for any violin enthusiast who has trouble finding a violin for him/herself locally, or simply has not enough time to look for it carefully.

I was skeptical about buying an instrument online, granted having a violin is such an personal experience. However, after reading many positive reviews about Corilon Violins on the web, I thought: I can't lose anything!

The website is an example of how a violin shop website should look like. Detailed, high resolution pictures, accurate descriptions with thorough information about age and provenance as well as sound clips that show violin characteristics clearly - unlike many shops, where a simple scale is recorded with a poor recording setup.

I looked mostly through German fiddles and settled up on trying a violin from Julius Heinrich Zimmermann workshops in Leipzig from around 1920. I loved the looks as well as the sound that seemed to fit Bach's music very well, and the violin was in my price range.

After exchanging a few e-mails with Dr. Annette Roeben who was very helpful, I decided to buy the violin from Corilon. They have a generous 30-day trial period, so if I didn't like the violin I could return it. But I won't, the violin is magnificent and performs just like I imagined it would. Also, the photos were really accurate - it looks exactly like on the pictures.

To sum up, I can only recommend buying from Corilon violins. Whether I understand it is not an option for many, who prefer more traditional means of shopping for a violin, I can see many who could benefit from buying online.

Now... I'm off to play my new old violin, which I'm getting to love more and more.

Best regards to everyone,
Mateusz Papiernik

Overall Rating

10


Corilon violins
submitted 3/22/2011

Submitter

backhann (see all reviews from this person)

Overall Comments


I want to share my experience dealing with Corilon violins. Iím very satisfied for the professional service. I have now a very fine French violin labeled Antonio Lorenzi.

I purchased a German violin from Corilon violins web shop. It was very good instrument but after a trial period ( which is extended 30 days!) I wasnít fully satisfied with the sound of this instrument. I informed them and they offered to send me five more test violins from the same price range without any costs. Iím very pleased for their expertise choosing those five violins according to my wishes. I found this French beautifully sounding violin among those five.

I shure can recommend Corilon violins to anyone who is buying older high quality violins. Corilon violins is reliable and very professional.

Corilon violins
Dr. Annette Roeben
Hussenstrasse 30
78462 Konstanz
Germany
mail@corilon.com
www.corilon.com

Overall Rating

10


You are not logged in.
Log In


Not a member? Create an Account (FREE!)



416 FIDDLE LOVERS ONLINE

HOME | FORUMS | MEMBERS | MEDIA ARCHIVE | TABS & LESSONS | CLASSIFIEDS | REVIEWS | LINKS | CALENDAR | STORE | TERMS OF USE
Viewing desktop version - switch to mobile version